Zero to One – most important lesson

Apart from learning Autodesk Fusion 360, I have started reading books back and will soon be creating some videos on electric unicycles that we use at the farm.

Today I finally finished a book called zero to one by Peter Thiel, one of the founders of Paypal, I am not going to share what it is about in detail, one thing that I would like to quote from the big in exact same words, which can be helpful for people looking forward to starting a new company.

The 7 questions you should be able to answer before starting any company –

  1. The Engineering question – Can you create breakthrough technology instead of incremental one?
  2. The Timing question – Is now the right time to start your particular business?
  3. The Monopoly question – Are you starting with a big share of a small market?
  4. the People question – Do you have the right team?
  5. the Distribution question – Do you have a way to not just create buy deliver your product?
  6. The Durability question – Well your market position be defensible 10 and 20 years into the future?
  7. The Secret question – have you identified a unique opportunity that others can’t see?

Other than that to be able to sustain myself in a city like Bangalore I ‘ll be conducting workshops on the skillset that I have already have. The next workshop will be on soft circuits- wearables, conductive thread, el wire etc. Let’s see how the response goes.

As far as fusion 360 is concerned, I have still not been able to merge the two designs, so I have emailed my design files to one of my friends, and he is trying from his laptop.

Leave a comment